Texas DAR Armed Services Awards

The DAR has always been a strong supporter of our national defense, particularly in crucial times of our history. The National Defense Committee was established in 1926 to include promotion of an enlightened public opinion as to our nation’s security and defense through publications, resolutions, and informative literature, all to advocate a strong American military defense; to preserve our American heritage of freedom; to protect the Constitution of the U. S.; and to insure the survival of our nation’s sovereignty.

Texas DAR recognizes men and women in military service at nine military bases in the state of Texas. This recognition began in 1958 by Mrs. Felix Irwin, State Regent, who established an Outstanding Instructor Pilot award at Corpus Christi Naval Air Station and Randolph Air Force Base. This award is known as the Texas Armed Services Award I.

Mrs. W. D. Tiner, State Regent 1983-1985, expanded these awards, establishing Texas Armed Services Awards II at Fort Bliss, Fort Sam Houston, Lackland Air Force Base, and Sheppard Air Force Base.

Texas Armed Services Awards III were enacted by Mrs. John Kenneth Harrell, State Regent 1991-1994, to include Brooks City Base, Corpus Christi Naval Air Station, and Randolph Air Force Base.

Texas DAR is very proud of the accomplishments of the recipients and wishes to state our appreciation to every one of the men and women in the military, for they are rendering the greatest of citizen services in defense of our country.